Boards / Committees

City Council

Laurel City Council meets the 2nd Monday of each month at 6:00 pm, at the City Office boardroom.  The Council consists of the Mayor and four elected officials.

Keith Knudsen, Mayor
Justin Eriksen, President of City Council
Chad Johnson
Jeff Erwin
June Koester

City Library Board

The Laurel City Library Board meets the 4th Monday of each month at 6:30 pm at the Laurel Learning Center Board Room.  The City Library Board’s responsibilities and duties include: Working to obtain adequate funding for the library; plan for the future of the library; monitor and evaluate overall effectiveness of the library; sets library policies; future and creating it to be responsive to what the community needs. 

Community Redevelopment Association (CRA)

The CRA meets the first Tuesday of each month at 7:00 pm at the City Office boardroom.

A Community Redevelopment Authority (CRA) was incorporated in 2007 under the Nebraska Community Redevelopment Law and is an entity of the City. The CRA is a five-member board, whose members are appointed by the Mayor with City Council approval. The CRA governs the Tax Increment Financing (TIF) Program for the City and plays a major role in Economic Development.

Board Members include: Trey Mogensen – Chairman, Steve Hansen – Vice-Chairman Pat Harrington – Secretary, Nathan Schmitt, and Skyler Curry.

Economic Development Advisory Board

The Economic Development (ED) Advisory Board meets each month at noon at the City Office.  The ED Advisory Board provides direction, feedback, and oversight of the ED Office.

Board Members include: Keith Knudsen, Justin Eriksen, Dustin Thompson, Alissa Baier, Skyler Curry, Brenda Whalen, Melissa Graham, Anthony Workman

Hillcrest Care Center Board

The Hillcrest Care Center Board meets the 3rd Thursday of each month at 5:00 pm.  The Board provides direction, feedback, sets the budget and seeks funding. 

Board Members include: Craig Gutz, Brenda Whalen, Marilyn Abts, Kathy Bradford, Karen Thompson, and Richard Brandow. 

Laurel Planning & Zoning Commission

The Laurel Planning and Zoning Commission meets the Friday before the City Council meeting each month.  The Planning and Zoning Commission reviews and considers Re-zoning Requests, Comprehensive Plan Amendments and Building permits, and makes recommendations to the City Council.

Laurel Tree Board

The Laurel Tree Board members are appointed by the Mayor with City Council approval.  The Laurel Tree Board works with the City of Laurel to plan for the care, replacement, maintenance and removal or disposition of trees and shrubs in parks, along streets and in other public areas. Meetings are held quarterly and will be announced.

View City of Laurel Tree Ordinance

Youth Philanthropy Committee

The Youth Philanthropy Committee was formed in 2018 and is a group of local citizens that work together to provide an opportunity for youth and young adults to use their creativity, compassion, and love of their community to make a positive difference.

Contact the City Economic Development Office at 402-256-9614 for more information.

For more information, contact the City Office at (402) 256-3112.

Skip to content